Summary of each Final Major Project idea

Woodland/Forest/ human interactivity

Brief Outline

My theme is based on the woodland/forest environment. This will be based closely to the Garden of Earthly Delights which I have already approached however I would also as part of the theme like to explore human interaction in nature specifically the woodland/forest. I hope to create small illustrative stories of these two themes interacting together; this idea will be developed further into my FMP. This theme would provide a wide selection of initial drawings and range of facilities to gather research from such as museums, art galleries and national gardens/parks. I intend to create interior products such as wallpaper, chairs, lamp shades, cushions and more working well along-side my theme. I intend to collect my main visual inspiration from Pinterest, gathering different motif styles and ways of working, which i intend to take further into my FMP. I would like to focus on woodland/forest creatures such as foxes, owls, deer’s and much more… I plan to begin my initial research of with woodland/forest imagery, then bringing in the human form interacting both of these themes together. Illustrative pieces such as trees have been a main source of my inspiration. I intend to draw from different types of forest/woodlands from around the world.

The Research I will undertake

  • Visual studies using journal (sketching book)
  • Photography- nature and different body language
  • Hancock museum- draw from their nature collection and anatomy
  • Life Centre Body World
  • Leonardo Da Vinci Collection in the Laing
  • College library, Newcastle library
  • Life drawing class- organise
  • public observations- Their body language, behaviour, movement
  • Books- Human anatomy books and nature
  • Personal photography of my body language (sport wear)
  • Pinterest
  • Visit Ikea- Observe presentation techniques to use in my own exhibition

Materials/processes

For this FMP concept idea i intend to use a wide range of materials and processes such as:

  • Heat press
  • Quilting
  • Weaving
  • Beading
  • Inbossing
  • Dye fabrics
  • Foils
  • Screen Printing
  • Stencilling
  • Printing with elements
  • Lino print
  • Knit
  • Photoshop

And more…

Intended Outcomes

I intend to create an interior based range including elements like wallpaper drops, lampshade, cushions, chair and more. This range will represent my theme of Woodland/forest/human interactivity, each representing different methods and techniques. I want this final range to be warm and inviting.

 

Leave a Reply

