Summary of each Final Major Project idea

Nature

Brief outline

My project will be based around the theme of “Nature”, portraying the different elements around us in a range of styles, motifs and mediums through an innovative interior setting. I intend to explore the different textures and colours created by nature and perhaps explore the science behind nature and growth. This project will look at many key points and attempt to build them all into a collection of interior papers, surfaces and fabrics. I wish to explore both print and constructed textiles throughout this theme, creating a very experimental and textural collection. For my project to move forward continuously I intend to study nature drawing from it daily and developing new motifs. I will also visually record natures using different materials; this will also help me generate new ideas and motifs. This will provide a visually rich extensive project. For my primary research I will use photography and drawing work. For my secondary research I intend to source imagery from the internet including Pinterest, from here I will gather new techniques and styles other artists use. This research will influence my work greatly and help me generate a range of processes.

Materials/processes

For this FMP concept idea i intend to use a wide range of materials and processes such as:

  • Heat press
  • Quilting
  • Weaving
  • Beading
  • Inbossing
  • Dye fabrics
  • Foils
  • Screen Printing
  • Stencilling
  • Printing with elements
  • Lino print
  • Knit
  • Photoshop

And more…

Intended outcomes

I intend to create an interior based range including elements like wallpaper drops, lampshade, cushions, chair and more. This range will represent my theme of Nature, each representing different methods and techniques. I want this final range to be warm and inviting.

Leave a Reply

